Our Board Of Directors

Our Board Of Directors

Prof Swaminathan: Chairman Emeritus

Action Against Hunger is delighted to have Professor MS Swaminathan as the Chairman Emeritus of our Board. Professor Swaminathan is a member of the Indian Parliament, an Honorary Chairman of the FAO Council  and the Chairman of the National Commission on Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Security.
Professor Swaminathan was the very first recipient of the World Food Prize, which he received for advancing human development through increased quantity, quality and accessibility of food.
He has also received the UNESCO Mahatma Gandhi Gold Medal for his outstanding work in extending the benefits of biotechnology to marginalised and poverty-stricken populations in developing countries. He has been honoured by the Government of France and has received the Ordre du Merite Agricole, for his services of the highest quality to the cause of agriculture 1997.

Mr. Ashwini Kakkar: Chairman

Mr Kakkar is the President of Mercury travels as well as being the President of the Association of Travel agencies in India. He is also a member of the International Board of INSEAD. Mr Kakkar received the National Order of Merit of the French Government in 2007, in recognition of his contribution towards the promotion of French/Indian relations.

“One in four of the world’s undernourished children lives in India. This reality is not good enough. This is not the India we want to be living in and it is not the India that we wish to pass to our own children. Let’s do something about it. Join Action Against Hunger and let us change this. Support our work and be part of transforming the current unacceptable reality. Together I believe that we can malnutrition a thing of the past.”  

Mr. TCA Rangachari

Mr Rangachari is former diplomat and is also the former director of the MMAJ Academy of International Studies in New Delhi. He has held a number of posts in several continents during his career working for UN agencies and not for profits. He represented India on the boards of UNICEF, UNDP and UNFPA.

Dr. Wasundhara Joshi

A paediatrician and former director of the Indian association SNEHA (Society for Nutrition Education and Health Action), Dr Joshi is a specialist in mother and child health. Dr Joshi taught and practiced paediatrics and neo-natal nursing for ten years. She then joined the public health sector by co-creating SNEHA, which seeks to improve women and children’s health in the slums of Mumbai.

Mr. Vipul Jain

Vipul Jain is the Chairman of the NGO catalyst for social action and Managing Director of Accelya Kale Solutions Ltd. Vipul is also a recipient of Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Award in the outstanding category for the India Chapter in 2015 for creating a leading software product company in Accelya Kale and his passionate contribution to social sector.


Mr. Denis Metzger

In 1979 Denis Metzger participated in the creation of Action Contre la Faim (ACF) and became President of ACF France and served as Chairman of its International board from 2006 to 2010.
He is also a Founding Member of the “Institut National pour la Simplification” (1992), of the “Appel pour le Combat de l’Abbé Pierre” (1994), of Droit d’Urgence (1995), and of Action Against Hunger India (2013) and he still acts as its Advisory Committee Chairman.
Denis Metzger has had a professional career in merchant banking, working with JP Morgan (in London and New York), then with Charterhouse (France) as Chief Executive Officer and Chairman until 2000. Since 2001, he is the Executive President of Chequers Capital, a pan-European investment company.

Mr. Rohan Parikh

Mr. Rohan Parikh is the Managing Director at the Apurva Natvar Parikh Group. The group has a diversified presence in real estate development, logistics, shipping, education and hospitality.


I would like to save children's lives today